A behind-the-screen look at the making of a web comedy series.

Success!

Sunday, May 2nd
Day 2, Something Awesome shoot

Let me tell you about my awesome day.

I was sick with exhaustion this morning. I grew nauseus when we started filming so I turned to Dara for support.

“Is it possible to puke from exhaustion?” I asked.

“Oh yeah,” she said.

Not the answer I was hoping for.

“I’m going to collapse for a bit,” I told Cai. She agreed, so I climbed into Julia’s loft and fell into her bed.

I’m not used to the intensity of this lifestyle. It’s going to take some getting used to. I don’t know how Cai does it — she has been getting the same amount of sleep as me — but I am deeply envious.

Honestly, this afternoon was fucking hell. But we survived. And when evening fell the awesome happened: Everyone on set collaborated to build a psychadaelic space ship full of chanting disciples and flashing lights that took the cast to planet Venus. The really cool part? I got to jump on set in a bit part to help energize the extras. From my vantage point I watched Cai dancing on the couch, leading all the actors on an interstellar journey.

This show has been a long haul, over one year in the making. There were several times when momentum died and the project threatened to fall apart. But there has always been at least one other person standing with me to keep the dream alive. Now I’m surrounded with amazing talent who are busting their asses to bring my crazy scripts to life.

And it’s working.

Today might be the happiest, most successful day of my life.

Until next time,
Nick

Leave a Reply

