A behind-the-screen look at the making of a web comedy series.

A day in the life

Had a really good phone call with Sam last night. I was feeling burned out and he helped put some perspective on why.

“How do you handle the intensity of this lifestyle?” I asked.

“Well,” he began, “what I’ve been doing for the show is actually very easy. You’re in a harder role. Producers are on set before everyone else, leave after everyone else and are up all night coordinating.”

“No joke,” I said. Then, upon reflection, added: “I’m going to take the night off.”

Sam’s confirmation of my ludicrous schedule helped ease the fear that I’m doing something wrong by staying up all night. Turns out this is typical.

This is hands down the hardest job I have worked in my life. And it’s the most satisfying.

Here’s a peak at what late-night Saturday to Sunday morning looked like last weekend. Like Sam said, after we wrapped our 12 hour day on set, I continued to work until the wee hours. Then I was up and grooving before the sun rose.

1:00 AM – wrap dailies with Cai. Drive back to Brooklyn. McDonalds pit stop for Big Macs.

2:30 AM – arrive @ Alec’s loft on McKibben St. Crash.

4:30 AM – awake. Drive back to Manhattan.

5:00 AM – arrive on set. Nice parking spot out front — helpful for load-out tonight!

5:15 AM – called my sister back in Seattle. We chatted about theater, penguins and how to make fake intestines.

6:15 AM – the texts begin. All kindsa people running late this AM.

8:00 AM – breakfast eaten, blocking & filming commences.

8:30 AM – great takes start the day. Despite exhaustion, actors are loose.

9:00 AM – I check into holding and crash for half an hour.

9:30 AM – Cai calls me back to help set a scene for the next take. Awake!

… and so it goes …

One response

  1. You’re doing great! I’m so excited for you and enjoying hearing about your journey.

    May 4, 2010 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

