A behind-the-screen look at the making of a web comedy series.

My awesome day

Journal entry:
Sunday, May 2
The wee hours

Let me tell you about my awesome day.

I was sick with exhaustion this morning. I grew nauseus so I let my body collapse on the bed for 1/2 hour. I’m not used to the intensity of this lifestyle. It’s going to take some getting used to.

Honestly, today was fucking hell. But we survived. And despite the mid- afternoon awfulness the day turned out to be awesome.

After wrapping regular apartment scenes Dara turned to me.

“Alright,” she challenged. “Build a space ship.”

It was the moment I had been waiting for.

I set to work building walls and setting key props. 5 minutes later a shell had come together.

I handed Mike some crayons and construction paper to build a control board.

“What this ship needs is some tinfoil,” Alec said.

“Totally,” I agreed, handing him a roll. “Do it up.”

Dara & Cai returned from a quick break. Nadine turned to Cai.

“How do you want me to light this?” she asked. Together they brainstormed strobes and cookies to get a cool flashing light effect. Very dirty sci fi.

“We should hang foil here, too,” Isis joined Alec.

When all was said and done, everyone pitched in with some cool and clever idea and a rad space ship came together. A bunch of extras arrived and in the excitement I asked Cai if I could join them.

“Go right ahead,” she smiled.

Cai lead us through an idea she brainstormed. She swayed back and forth on the director’s couch and everyone on set swayed back and forth with her. Thus completed the beautifully cheesy sci fi effect.

When we shot the scene it was ludicrous silliness. Everyone had a blast. The rudimentary space ship shell had become a fully-formed sci fi nuthouse.

And that’s what Something Awesome is all about. I set up the framework and everyone gets to join in the fun with their own cool contributions. Through the magic of collaboration and mutual respect amazing things happen.

So that was my awesome day. Through hell and back, then building a rocket to the stars. Everyone left set with a grin, eager to see what kind of magic we’d make next.

Until next time,
Nick

Leave a Reply

