A behind-the-screen look at the making of a web comedy series.

Let’s make a TV show

Hey everyone in blog land!

It’s been a quiet few months on this blog as we try to figure out where to go with OUATIB. There are some festival submissions coming up later this year … more on this in a bit. We’ve been working on season 2 scripts as well, and have a season draft ready to roll.

But the big news is that I was approached last month about developing a TV series!

I’ve been in talks ever since for a show somewhere international. No one’s giving me details, so I can’t pass any along.

I told a few friends who were supportive — for one thing, there’s money in TV that you won’t find online (yet) — so I used the momentum to reach out to agents. My good friend Emily who used to work in the LA agency world gave me very helpful pointers (thanks again, Em!) and within a week I found an agent eager to shop the show around.

My treatment is solid and on-point, and has been getting some attention. So far we’ve had call backs from 6 major networks, as well as a few producers who’re interested in taking this on.

This is going to mean a flight (or two) to LA in my near future to meet with networks to do introductory meet & greets, then lots of haggling & negotiating as I try to retain as much of my creative vision as possible. Then a possible international deal for a spin-off waiting in the wings.

I’m not getting excited yet, but big things are in the air.

Not bad for a fun little web series.

Until next time,

Nick

One response

  1. Congrats Nick! Very exciting news

    February 25, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

